Music News

Jenny Lewis announces new album Joy’All, shares new single “Psychos”

Jenny Lewis is set to release her fifth studio album Joy’All this summer.

The singer-songwriter defines the album title, which will arrive June 9 via Blue Note/Capitol Records, as “joy to all” and “a feeling of great pleasure or happiness.”

“I started writing some of these songs on the road, pre-pandemic… and then put them aside as the world shut down, and then from my home in Nashville in early 2021, I joined a week-long virtual songwriting workshop with a handful of amazing artists, hosted by Beck. The challenge was to write one song every day for seven days, with guidelines from Beck. The guidelines would be prompts like ‘write a song with 1-4-5 chord progression,’ ‘write a song with only cliches,’ or ‘write in free form style.’ The first song I submitted to the group was ‘Puppy and a Truck,’” the singer wrote in a press release.

Joy’All, her first album since 2019’s On The Line, will feature 10 tracks, including the aforementioned yacht-rock-esque track “Puppy and a Truck,” which was a hallmark of sets during her run opening for Harry Styles

With the announcement of the new album, Lewis shared new single “Psychos,” a breezy country-tinged track that channels ’70s era Fleetwood Mac.

According to the press release, the album touches on “soul to ‘90s R&B, as well as country.” Lewis worked with eight-time GRAMMY-winning producer Dave Cobb (John Prine, Brandi Carlile, Chris Stapleton, Jason Isbell) on the record. Joy’All also features background vocals from Lucius’s Jess Wolfe as well as pedal steel, B-Bender guitar and Chamberlin from Greg Leisz and Jon Brion.

Lewis is set to hit the road this summer, which coincides with the release of her new album. She’s also set to head out on tour in support of the 20th anniversary of The Postal Service’s only album Give Up.

Check out the tracklist and new single below.

Joy’All Tracklist

01 Psychos
02 Joy’all
03 Puppy and a Truck
04 Apples and Oranges
05 Essence of Life
06 Giddy Up
07 Cherry Baby
08 Love Feel
09 Balcony
10 Chain of Tears


For more updates check below links and stay updated with News AKMI.
Life and Style || E Entertainment || Automotive News || TV Shows || Musicals || Celeb || Current Movies


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

usa news wall today prime news newso time news post wall