Users of popular social media app Snapchat have been warned of a “creepy” update.
The update allows people on Snapchat to locate users down to their street address, and even tells users how long it would take them to get there.
The “Snap Map” update has sparked privacy and safety concerns among parents and experts.
In March last year, a 16-year-old girl was sexually assaulted in Brighton after a party was tracked down by gatecrashers who used the maps feature.
Cyber security expert Jordan Foster has warned parents about the impact such information could have.
The “Snap Map” update can be disabled by selecting “Ghost Mode” in the application settings.
Earlier this week, Snapchat launched “Snapchat+” – a subscription service which will allow subscribers to view other users’ locations and to rewatch videos for up to 24 hours after they’ve been posted.
But a spokesperson for Snapchat previously told The Daily Mail the company was addressing privacy concerns.
“Location sharing via the Snap Map is off by default, and Snapchatters who do decide to share their location will only be able to see and be seen by mutual friends,” a spokesperson said.
“We have zero tolerance for any sort of bullying or harassment and ask that Snapchatters report abuse or any other safety concerns in the app.”