Is CBD Legal in Texas

Cannabidiol is a potent and popular cannabinoid among many health enthusiasts. It’s little wonder that CBD Texas is also in demand amongst locals and tourists of the second largest state in the country. The reason for its recent rise in popularity has to do with both the compound’s health benefits and the recent changes in U.S. federal laws on industrial hemp.

As a cannabinoid mostly found and extracted from hemp plants, CBD oil is known for its anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, and antioxidant properties. It is used to help treat a myriad of chronic pains, relieve anxiety and stress, aid in sleeping, manage skin conditions, and many others. You can use the best CBD gummies for anxiety from an online store to get rid of problems like anxiety and stress.

CBD Texas Laws

When discussing CBD laws, it is important to note that hemp and marijuana are not categorically the same. The changes surrounding the 2018 U.S. Farm Bill distinctly categorize the two: any cannabis product containing more than 0.3 percent THC by dry weight is considered marijuana, while any product with less than that amount is a hemp byproduct.

Before the federal government decided on these changes, CBD Texas was illegal for decades. Any cannabis plant product was illegal in the state, THC levels notwithstanding. However, the federal changes in hemp policies prompted changes in state laws as well. In June 2019, House Bill 1325 was signed, with the bill legalizing industrial hemp and CBD Texas.

According to federal laws, only hemp-derived CBD products with no more than 0.3% THC content are deemed legal in Texas. Manufacturing, using, and selling CBD is legal in Texas. However, possession of CBD flowers and home or personal hemp cultivation remains illegal. Hemp brands are required to meet certain requirements before they open for operations.

Note that no marijuana products in Texas are legal. While CBD was removed from the Schedule I list of controlled substances, THC in high doses is still very much illegal. Law enforcement is tasked to monitor even medical marijuana usage. The state has a rigorous and restrictive medical cannabis program that only allows qualified patients to avail of marijuana for treatments.

Can a Doctor in Texas Prescribe CBD Oil?

Admittedly, even with all the recent changes in hemp laws, CBD possession and usage guidelines remain vague at times. This is mostly because policymakers are still coming with new rules to help regulate a fast-growing industry. While the use of CBD in Texas is legal, there are a few other options for those who want to access hemp products with over 0.5% THC easily.

The Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) was created by the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS). Physicians use it to register and prescribe low-THC hemp byproducts as part of the patient’s treatment.

Registration is free, and no identification card is issued. Once included in the registry, qualified patients can purchase CBD from the state’s local dispensaries. Only residents qualify for this program.

As a general rule, CBD Texas with less than 0.3 percent THC is sold in groceries and wellness centers. These products are available to adult consumers at any time. CBD with higher levels of THC is restricted in the state. If you are a patient with a medical condition qualifying for medical marijuana, register with CURT, or ask for a prescription from a licensed physician.

Where Can I Buy CBD Oil in Texas?

There are countless, varying ways to take CBD oil in Texas. Many products such as tinctures, pills, topicals, gummies, and even pet treats are becoming more available in many local pharmacies, wellness spas, and health stores. However, the demands are higher than the supply, so most purchase their CBD Texas from online brands.

Only three dispensaries are licensed to sell hemp oil. You need to be on the CURT registry or have a prescription to buy from these places. Hemp farming is legal in the state, but the requirements are rigorous, not to mention expensive, but many are slowly investing in it, especially when the new bill that legalized hemp was signed into law.

When buying CBD products, look for reputable brands that abide by federal law requirements. Accurate and honest product labels are a must, as well as third-party laboratory test results. These lab reports will tell consumers that the hemp brand only uses organic and locally-grown hemp materials. It will also record CBD’s purity and potency for safety purposes.

How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD in Texas?

There are currently no age restrictions to purchase CBD in Texas. The Farm Bill does not explicitly state any age limit, giving many states the liberty to set their restrictions. The consensus is that cannabidiol should only be sold to legal adults. In Texas, patients who are 18 years old and below need a parent or guardian to purchase their medical CBD.

Hemp-derived cannabidiol can be purchased through various online retailers. Many locals prefer this option as many CBD brands ship to all fifty states. Just make sure that your purchasing product comes from a reputable source and abides by both federal and local laws. This will not only give you your money’s worth but also avoid any conflict with authorities.

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has not evaluated or approved any CBD product. Consumers are meant to take them as health supplements and not medication. Hemp oil extract products are not meant to diagnose, treat, or prevent any medical condition. Before trying CBD Texas, consult with your physician.

Related Articles

Back to top button